En cours de réapprovisionnement

SORTIE LE 04.02.22

Back from the Canigó Volume Two – Country Punks & City Rockers Perpignan 1999-2010

Le second volume de la géniale compilation « back from the canigo » qui célèbre la scène garage/punk perpignanaise se concentre sur la période 99/2010 avec notamment Les Bellas, Jack Of heart, Hushpuppies etc..

Rupture de stock

UGS : 43834 Catégories : , , Étiquettes : ,



Here we are! Back for the second volume of Back from the Canigó ! In the same spirit as Back from the Grave, our goal is to look back at what happened in the South of France near Perpignan at the beginning of the 21st century.
As you can hear it in the first volume, the city of Perpignan (and its region, Northern Catalonia) has been a strong place for underground rock’n’roll for many years. In the 90’s, there were a lot of garage bands and an important mods community. These guys created a spirit in the city that’s still present today.

This volume showcases the new bands created by Perpignan’s city rockers and the country punks from the nearby villages. Bands like Les Gardiens du Canigou, The Ugly Things, The Likyds, The Toxic Farmers, The Vox Men, The Feedback, heard on the first compilation, spawned plenty of new formations.

This time the scene has its own labels – Nasty Products and Profet Record are two of them. It has never been easier to record music and put it on vinyl. There are live venues all over the city. The beginning of the internet also makes life easier, even when you’re in a town in the South of France near the Spanish border and the Mediterranean. Myspace is growing fast and local bands make contact with the other side of the Atlantic.
The Sonic Chicken 4 are signed by In the Red and Trouble in Mind. Parisian labels are also interested in the work of bands from Perpignan. The Hushpuppies, ex-Likyds, go to the capital and are signed by Diamondtraxx. They’re certainly the best known band of that era with their hit « You’re Gonna Say Yeah », featured on Guitar Hero and in several commercial ads.
Boosted by international touring, Catalan bands make their way into the world. The Fatals go on tour in Italy and Canada. The Sonic Chicken 4 are booked for a US tour while Jack of Heart, signed on Born Bad, play all over Europe. The whole world listens.

This is the story told by our compilation. Just put the needle on the record and let the music do the talking…

Cover artwork by Pascal Comelade.


A1. Jack Of Heart – Love In Vain
A2. Les Bellas – Belladelic
A3. Sonic Chicken 4 – Do It Allright
A4. El Vicio – Longanisse
A5. Pablo Escobar’s Sons – Fuzz Rapid Fuzz
A6. Destination Lonely – Vanessa
A7. Migas Valdes – Marijuana

B1. Sonic Chicken 4 – Right Side Of A Woman
B2. Les Bellas – She’s On My Track
B3. The Mighty Go-Go Players – Fallin’ With You, In Love With You
B4. Hair And The Iotas – Tell Her Lies
B5. T. Time Fantasy – Shake With Me
B6. Ultralove – Je Viens D’Une Autre Planète
B7. El Vicio – Darkside
B8. Hair And The Iotas – Faster

C1. Hushpuppies – You’re Gonna Say Yeah
C2. Hair And The Iotas – Head It On
C3. White NI***rs – Don’t Wanna Be Back
C4. Men In The Moon – Meteorite Beat
C5. Les Bellas – Mistrial Blues
C6. Crank – Kill My Brain Make Me Smile
C7. The Fatals – Feel Allright
C8. Zoo Trash – Not Enough Noise

D1. Jack Of Heart – Tell Me Lyres
D2. Kung Fu Escalator – Get Off My Mind
D3. Circles – Many In My Head
D4. Migas Valdes – Gories
D5. Los Santos – Henri 2D
D6. T.Time Fantasy – San Francisco
D7. Hushpuppies – Hushpuppies


Vous aimerez peut-être aussi…

back from the canigo vol2



Rupture de stock